Rasch AwarOn Aug 6 2019, the Kuyahoora Valley Rotary Club invited students to attend a senior award dinner meeting held at the Town of Russia Park. This year we had seniors from Poland Central School (PCS) and from West Canada Valley Central School (WCVCS) that won awards for academic achievement, volunteerism or outstanding effort.  The award winners each introduced their parents and told us briefly about their academic plans for the coming year and their eventual job goals.
The Arthur Whaley award, $1000 for academic achievement, went to Chloe Lawson (PCS), who plans to attend SUNY Binghamton and major in biochemistry and Ryan Soron (WCVCS), who will also attend SUNY Binghamton and major in engineering.
The Kenneth Young award of $500 recognizes outstanding effort and self-improvement during the high school years. The effort award was presented to Keara Blumenstock (PCS), who will start school at HCCC and plans to get her M.A. majoring in speech pathology and Dana Rubin (WCVCS), who was not able to attend the banquet.
The Rasch award of $500 for community service was presented to Sarah DeVuyst (PCS), who plans to attend MVCC for a degree in Business Administration and Nathaniel Marrero (WCVCS), who plans to go to Alfred for Ceramic Engineering.
Two other new this year awards were also presented.
The $1000 Coman Memorial award which honors a graduating student from WCVCS who excelled in both academics and athletics. This year the award was presented to Wesley Clarke, who plans to attend SUNY Oswego and major in childhood education.   
The $500 Manfred Klutschkowski Memorial award to a student(s) from either PCS or WCVCS who has chosen to use the Rotary Foreign Exchange program as an outbound student in the coming year. This year the award, which helps with expenses, goes to Ryann Dunn (PCS), who will be going to Japan for a full school year.
We are proud of our eight award winners and wish them good fortune in their chosen professions. Pictured below from left to right are: Wesley Clark, Ryan Soron, Nathaniel Marrero, Melissa McCredie (Youth Exchange Officer),  Keara Blumenstock, Chloe Lawson, Sarah DeVuyst